skip to main content

Hutt Multicultural Council


Vision: Celebrating Diversity and Unity in Lower Hutt

Mission: To be the lead organisation that promotes cultural diversity, educates about tolerance and harmony and provides a voice for the minority groups in Lower Hutt.

Values: We value diversity, mutual respect, inclusiveness and service to others.


President: Tribhuvan Shrestha

Vice President: Winsome Lam

Secretary: Aureen Mandadero


Treasurer: Prachee Gokhale

Committee members:

1. Deputy Mayor Tui Lewis
2. Kiran Thakarar
3. Jesil Cajes
4. Luke Qin
5. Robert de Cartier-McCarthy
6. Anita Mansell

Patron: John Terris QSO 

Honorary Legal Advisor: Karun Lakshman





About Lower Hutt

  • Hutt City is the second largest city in the Wellington region and borders onto the capital city Wellington .
  • It was the first place settled in the Wellington region - the first European settlors arrived on Petone Beach in 1839.
  • Today Petone is the Hutt City's seaside restaurant and cafe centre and is dotted with heritage buildings and antique shops.
  • Another Hutt City cultural gem is the Dowse Art Museum, which features eloquent ever changing exhibitions of New Zealand and international art, craft and design.
+ Text Size -
Original generation time 0.1428 seconds.