skip to main content

Multicultural Whangarei 

Mission: "A community where everyone feels welcomed and supported"

Vision: " Promoting multiculturalism with an understanding of Tangata Whenua, New Zealand Culture, and The Treaty of Waitangi with a focus on connecting people and building bridges across cultures by a providing a safe, family focused place where migrants and New Zealanders feel empowered and supported.

To promote and protect the interests of the many different ethnic groups in the Whangarei District.
To raise the consciousness among ethnic groups of the status of the Maori people as Tangata Whenua and their rights under the Treaty of Waitangi.
To assist Government and Local Government agencies consult with the ethnic groups of our area.
To provide a forum for the ethnic groups to share experiences and friendships.
To enable ethnic groups to give each other mutual support and strength to deal with issues which affect them all and to speak with one voice on those issues.
To protect the democratic rights of the ethnic groups to participate in decisions which affect them.
To enable the ethnic groups to openly express their commitment to New Zealand while at the same time, protecting their ethnic heritage and identity.
To promote the Whangarei District as a multi-ethnic society.
To create opportunities for the general public to gain greater understanding and respect for people of other ethnic origins and vice-versa.
To encourage organizations that provide services to the public to acknowledge, reflect and respond to the cultural diversity of the Whangarei District.
To encourage cultural inclusiveness and enrichment.
To facilitate pathways towards cultural integration.
To offer support, guidance and information to migrant community.

 Physical Address: 37 Bank Street, Whangarei 0110 (Civic Arcade – upstairs offices)

 Working Hours: 9.00 am - 2.30 pm


 Facebook: Multicultural Whangarei - Home | Facebook

 Phone: (09) 430 0571

 Website: Multicultural Whangarei | Whangarei Migrant Center


Governance Committee 2021-2022     


Chairperson: Marion Kerepeti-Edwards                              

Vice Chair: Sandeep Diwan

Secretary: Sanjana Weragodaarachchi

Treasurer: Vacant



   Committee Management Members:


  1. Su Mei Li Morgan
  2. Sue-Anne Moo
  3. Paula Tabakinabou
  4. Ligimamilli Pakieto-Johnstone
  5. Rabin Ranji


  1. Bridget Robertson
  2. Suzzette Monroe




+ Text Size -

Skip to TOP

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the server!