skip to main content

Southland Multicultural Council




Mission: “Promoting and protecting the interests of ethnic people in Southland.”


Physical Address: 46 Kelvin Street, Invercargill 9810

Office hours: 9am - 3pm




    President: Neill Rumble


    Contact number: 027 428 3260

    Secretary: James Akbar-given

    Administrator: Kristina Benipayo


    Landline: 03 214 9296

    Mobile: 021 022 16745

    Coordinator: Meggy Bartlett-McBride





       Committee Member(s):

       Adriana Rincon
       Nell Rumble
       David Reyes
       Melissa Hobbs
       Celvin Raihan
       Nayabet Espinoza





About Southland

Invercargill, in the Southland region, is New Zealand's most southern city. Here we take great pride in our reputation as 'the friendly city'.

The variety of Invercargill's architectural heritage also gives the city a character all of its own. Invercargill began as a frontier town to serve the farming community. Today farming, particularly sheep and dairy, remains key to the local economy, which supports over 50,000 people.

There is excellent shopping, a focused business district, lively eateries and restaurants, and late night entertainment. Flat and easy to get around, Invercargill has all the trappings of city life and few of the drawbacks.

Invercargill is home of the Southern Institute of Technology zero fees scheme.

Fanning out from the hub, wide suburban tree-lined roads grace the streetscape. Elegant homes and bungalows are interspersed with small local shopping centres, schools and sports grounds. There are awesome parks and the largest collection of live tuatara are at the Southland Museum and Art Gallery. Nearby is the fishing port of Bluff, home to the famous Bluff Oyster Festival and departure point for the ferry to Stewart Island.

On the city's outer boundaries there are forests, the New River Estuary, the ocean and green pastures. Invercargill is favourably placed on the Southern Scenic Route and is the gateway to other exciting destinations, like the Southland heartland, Stewart Island Fiordland and The Catlins.



+ Text Size -

Skip to TOP

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the server!